Drop the ‘Diet’ word

Here we go again, is it the time of year? Every magazine and newspaper I see is urging us to diet. They want us to lose 5lbs in 3 days with their magic plan, or do it the ‘easy way’ by intermittent fasting, or no carbs or no sugar or low fat.

Here we go again, is it the time of year? Every magazine and newspaper I see is urging us to diet. They want us to lose 5lbs in 3 days with their magic plan, or do it the ‘easy way’ by intermittent fasting, or no carbs or no sugar or low fat.

The diet industry is every bit as confusing as the food industry. And it all sounds such hard work following rules, I’ve lost interest half way through the article. The word ‘diet’ makes me shudder, a punishment word, a grim word. How often do we hear the phrase, ‘ I can’t do that, I’m dieting’? The message is there’s no fun in ‘dieting’ and once you’ve got through this and lost 10lbs you can go back to normal….

My message is enjoy eating healthy food and feeling healthy!

Listen to your own body and see what works best for you. ‘Clean Eating’ has had a lot of bad press recently. I think this is a shame. I interpreted the term to mean eat real food, so I agree with most of what they are promoting. I think these extreme ‘healthy’ recommendations are probably a logical reaction to the extreme unhealthy diet that so many people survive on.

I recommend you to look at the recipe books before judging. Ella Woodward, Clean Alice, Hemsley & Hemsley, Bear Grylls, have lovely, tasty, easy to make, meals and treats.

I am surprised by the vitriol in the press. We have an obesity epidemic in Great Britain, which we are apparently unable to tackle. This epidemic is crushing the NHS. People continue to die from the side effects. People who promote eating a healthy diet are surely to be praised and encouraged?

Just losing weight isn’t the full answer, we know that if you reduce your calorie intake for long enough and exercise you will lose weight. However what we are looking for is optimum health, well nourished, feeling full of energy, skin glowing and at our own ideal weight.

Crash diets and suffering will not achieve this.

If I say what I don’t eat, it makes normal people recoil in horror. So I prefer to say what I do eat, loads of fruit and vegetables, fish, dairy, nuts, sweet treats every day ( but no refined sugar), a very varied diet. I don’t have a weight problem and have loads of energy.

Who knows what will kill us off one day? Could be anything but my motto is ‘ feel as good as you can for as long as you can’. And that’s up to me….

More next time, bye for now.

Leave a Reply

